The Bridge Over The Atlantic
Seil has been joined to the Scottish mainland for over two hundred years by this famous structure. The original design for a two-arched bridge was by John Stevenson, a builder from Oban, but the bridge was finally constructed in 1792 as a single high arch - to allow vessels to pass underneath - by Robert Mylne. His design has certainly stood the test of time - today tourist coaches and 40 tonne lorries regularly cross the Sound over its graceful arch. In early summer a rare plant, the Fairy Foxglove, covers its stonework in a delicate shimmer of small purple flowers, further enhancing its timeless beauty.
Just across the bridge lies the Tigh an Truish, a welcoming inn with interior decor undamaged by modern fashion. Real ales and pub grub can be enjoyed in the bar or taken outside at the tables overlooking the Sound if the weather permits. The name translates from the Gaelic as 'House of the Trousers', and refers to the time after the Jacobite rising of 1745 when the kilt was banned. Islanders would change into trousers here before crossing to the mainland.
A path leads down the North side of the Inn across the hill to the famous yachting anchorage of Puilladobhrain (trans: 'pool of the otters'). This is a very worthwhile short excursion, with superb views across to the Isle of Mull.